Strategic KM planning for ALAB Karbawan-Southern Luzon

The DA-PCC at University of the Philippine Los Baños (DA-PCC at UPLB) conducted its first ALAB Karbawan Strategic and Knowledge Management Planning Workshop for its stakeholders in southern Luzon at the Eusebio Hall of the DA-PCC National Headquarters and Gene Pool (DA-PCC NHQGP), on December 12-13, 2022.

The Accelerating Livelihood and Assets Buildup (ALAB) Karbawan is DA-PCC’s Carabao-based Enterprise Development (CBED) intervention and the popularized name for the Carabao-based Improvement Network (CBIN) which aims to provide business opportunities to improve Filipino carabao farmers’ livelihood and boost the development of the local dairy industry in the country.

The two-day ALAB Karbawan workshop highlighted the project components and way forward, updates of CBED and CBIN projects in Regions IV-A and B, and Region V, the Carabao Industry Roadmap, situation analysis and action planning, and strategic communication interventions that will aim to enhance the stakeholders knowledge and skills on dairy carabao production.

“The farmer cooperatives are part of the value chain system, which means that their role is crucial to the development and success of the ALAB Karbawan projects,” DA-PCC Deputy Executive Director Dr. Caro Salces said.

Dr. Salces also encouraged the participants to help the DA-PCC in strengthening and improving the carabao industry by promoting artificial insemination (AI) in their communities, an initiative that is seen to increase the numbers of carabaos in the region.

The Department of Science and Technology (DOST) and the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) also presented their respective programs and services that may benefit the carabao industry stakeholders.

The workshop was participated by DA-PCC at UPLB’s assisted farmer cooperatives including Magdalena Agriculture Cooperative (MAgCo), General Trias Dairy Raisers Multi-Purpose Cooperative (GTDRMPC), Llano Farmers Multi-Purpose Cooperative (LFMPC), The Rosario Livestock and Agriculture Farming Cooperative (TRLAFCo), Mindoro Dairy Cooperative (MiDaCo), and Marinduque Diocesan Development Cooperative (MDDC).