Roster of DA-PCC’s scientists

Five DA-PCC researchers took oath either as newly conferred or upgraded scientists, under the Scientific Career System (SCS) by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) and the Civil Service Commission (CSC) in a virtual ceremony held on September 22.

DA-PCC’s National Genetic Improvement Program (GIP) Coordinator Dr. Ester Flores and Senior Science Research Specialist Dr. Lerma Ocampo have been conferred the rank of Scientist I under the Agricultural Sciences Division effective December 3, 2020 and May 21, 2021, respectively, joining the agency’s growing pool of career scientists. 

DA-PCC’s scientist couple Dr. Edwin and Eufrocina Atabay were conferred Scientist II rank effective May 21 while Deputy Executive Director for Production and Research Dr. Claro Mingala was upgraded to career Scientist IV effective January 26.

Their significant contributions and noteworthy accomplishments in the agricultural science made them qualified and eligible to the career scientist rank, granted by the Scientific Career Council (SCC), which is the governing body of the SCS. 

The SCS is “a system of recruitment, career progression, recognition and reward of scientists in the government service as a means of developing a pool of highly qualified and productive scientific personnel”. Its program is being administered by the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST).